Top News

Wycliffe Oparanya is the new Council of Governors chairman

Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya. /FILE

Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya has been elected the chairman of Council Of Governors.

Oparanya takes over from Turkana Governor Josphat Nanok.

The ODM deputy party leader has served as a member of the Finance and Economic Affairs Committee at the CoG.

Other contestants were Anne Waiguru (Kirinyaga), Anyang’ Nyong’o (Kisumu), Salim Mvurya (Kwale) and Jackson Mandago (Uasin Gishu).

Murang’a Governor Mwangi Wa Iria was elected as the new Vice Chairperson replacing Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru.

The election was held at Movenpick Hotel in Westlands, Nairobi, on Monday.

Salim Mvurya by-passed

In December 2017, the CoG announced that Governor Mvurya would take over leadership within six months as Nanok’s term came to an end.

The council explained that an agreement had been reached after intense lobbying in the sidelines of a CoG meeting in Kwale.

Mvurya, who was at the time the Council’s vice chairperson, was to remain in office until June 2018 and step down for Governor Waiguru.

While Mvurya stepped down for Waiguru, Nanok remained the chair until Monday’s vote.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

92 − = 91