Kenyan-PoliticsTop News

Raila, Ruto meet in Kisumu amid high political temperatures

Archbishop Anyolo

ODM leader Raila Odinga and Deputy President William Ruto among other leaders during the installation of Kisumu Archbishop Philip Anyolo on Saturday 12 January 2019/Courtesy

Deputy President William Ruto and ODM leader Raila Odinga met at St Theresa’s cathedral Kibuye while attending the installation of the new Kisumu Archbishop Philip Anyolo.

Rev. Philip Anyolo takes over from Archbishop Zacchaeus Okoth who has served since 1990 and has since attained the Archbishop retirement age.

Archbishop Anyolo was previously Bishop of Homabay, where he had served in since May 2003.

He has been serving as the chairman of Kenya Conference of Catholic Bishops (KCCB) since 2013 and is currently on his second term.

Mr Odinga and Mr Ruto went to Kisumu barely a month after they and President Kenyatta attended the launch of the pilot Universal Health Coverage programme.

The 2022 succession politics was expected to lead the talk with accusations concerning the next presidential election and Mr Odinga’s handshake with President Uhuru Kenyatta.

There has been  a fall out in Jubilee party with the recent being the resignation of party vice chairman David Murathe who has vowed  to block Ruto from succeeding president Uhuru Kenyatta.

Raila’s camp has been accusing Ruto and his allies for being in connection of mega scandals in the country.

Ruto promised to buy the Archbishop a car to help him get around the Western region.

“We will ensure he gets a posh and latest make car that will enable him traverse the region doing God’s work. I can guarantee you that we shall be the first people to get to Kisumu for the event even before these leaders from Western find their way to the venue,” said Ruto.

Other leaders in attendance at the ceremony included Senators Moses Kajwang (Homa Bay) Moses Wetang’ula (Bungoma); governors Anyang Nyong’o (Kisumu), Cornel Rasanga (Siaya), Wycliffe Wangamati (Bungoma) and Cyprian Awiti (Homa Bay); CSs Eugene Wamalwa (Devolution) and Raychelle Omamo (Defence); MPs Chris Wamalwa (Kiminini) and Otiende Amolo (Rarieda).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

91 − = 85

  • MKarimu Radio