SportsTop News

Modric wins FIFA best player award, beats Ronaldo, Salah


Luka Modric Croatia received FIFA best player award of the year 2017-2018

Luka Modric broke a decade of award dominance by Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi after being crowned world footballer of the year by FIFA.

Modric was voted FIFA’s best player in the 2017-2018 season at the Best FIFA Football Awards in London on Monday.

He led Real Madrid in winning the Champions League for a fourth time in five season and led Croatia to its first World Cup final where it lost to France.

Luka Modric in action

Messi and Ronaldo were the only winners of world football’s main individual award from FIFA in various guises since 2008, both winning five titles each.

Christiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi were the only dominants of  FIFA awards since 2008.

Messi didn’t make the three-man shortlist and skipped the trip to London.

Ronaldo failed to turn up at the ceremony in London to be dethroned in person by his former Real Madrid teammate despite being in the final three alongside Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah.

Ronaldo, who left Madrid in the off season to join Italian champion Juventus, was knocked out of the World Cup in the round of 16 with European champion Portugal.

Salah scored a record 32 goals in a 38-game English Premier League and helped Liverpool reach its first Champions League final in 11 years.

World cup 2018

Team of the year
Goalkeeper: David De Gea (Spain, Manchester United)
Defenders: Dani Alves (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain), Raphael Varane (France, Real Madrid). Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid), Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid).
Midfielders: Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid), N’Golo Kante (France, Chelsea), Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea).
Forwards: Kylian Mbappe (France, Paris Saint-Germain), Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid/currently Juventus)