SportsTop News

Athletic Kenya names 32-member team for 2019 World Cross Country in Denmark

Athletic Kenya

Athletics Kenya has named a 32-member team to represent the country at the 2019 World Cross Country set for March 30 in Aarhus, Denmark.

The team was selected on Saturday during the national cross country championships-cum-trails held at the Eldoret Sports Club.

The team is comprised of various top runners both in the junior and senior categories.

Defending world cross champion Geoffrey Kamworor will seek to keep his title when he leads the men’s sextet in Denmark despite being upset by former world u20 3,000m steeplechase champion, Amos Kirui.

Also in the mix is world u20 10,000m champion Rhonex Kipruto.

World 5,000m champion Hellen Obiri will lead the women’s line up as she seeks to add a world cross medal to her burgeoning cabinet.

It is the only medal missing from her rich collection.

She will be joined by world 3,000m record holder Beatrice Chepkoech and Lilian Kasait.

World champions Conseslus Kipruto (3000m steeplechase) and Elijah Manangoi (1500m), former world cross champion Agnes Tirop headline the mixed relay team.

World U20 5,000 champion Beatrice chebet remains the Kenyan favourite after destroying a rich local field in altitude.

World U20 3,000m steeplechase silver medallist Leonard Bett finished third to book his ticket to Aarhus in a race won by Samuel Chalobe, brother to 2014 Commonwealth Games 1500m silver medallist Ronald Kwemoi.

Selected team

Senior Women 10km

Hellen Obiri

Beatrice Mutai

Beatrice Chepkoech

Deborah Samum

Eva Cherono

Lilian Kasait

Senior Men 10km

Amos Kirui

Evans Keitany

Rodgers Kwemoi

Richard Kimunyan

Geoffrey Kamworor

Rhonex Kipruto

Emmanuel Bor (reserve)

Paul Tanui (reserve)

Mixed Relay

Conseslus Kipruto

Elijah Manangoi

Charles Simatwo

Jarinter Mawia

Winfred Mbithe

Agnes Tirop

Junior Women 6km

Beatrice Chebet

Betty Jepkemboi

Jackline Rotich

Agnes Mwikali

Lydia Jeruto

Mercy Chepkorir

Junior Men 8km

Samuel Chebole

Emmanuel Kiprotich

Leonard Bett

Edwin Koskei

Charles Karuri

Kibet Kandie