Breaking News

Harambee Stars nominated for CAF Team of the Year award

Harambee Stars has been nominated for the Team of the Year Award by CAF alongside, Guinea Bissau, Zimbabwe, Uganda, Mauritania and Madagascar. /COURTESY

Kenya’s national team Harambee Stars has been nominated for the men’s national team of the year award by the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

Stars, who are on the brink of qualifying for the 2019 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Cameroon, has been nominated alongside Guinea Bissau, Madagascar, Mauritania, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

This follows Kenya’s good run in the 2019 AFCON qualifiers. They top group “F” on seven points after four matches.

Kenya was to host Sierra Leone in round five of the qualifiers but the fixture was cancelled by the CAF due to the West African nation’s suspension by Fifa.

As a result, Stars, who needed a win to proceed, could earn a direct ticket should the situation down in Freetown fail to be resolved by the end of the qualifiers in March.

Stars, under French tactician Sebastien Migne are on the verge of making it to the continental showpiece for the first time since their last appearance in Tunisia in 2004, under Jacob “Ghost” Mulee.

Stars also finished second at the Hero Intercontinental Cup in India in June, during the four-nation tournament in which Chinese Taipei and New Zealand also took part.


Meanwhile, 34 men players and 15 women players have been nominated for the Player of the Year Award among them Ugandan captain Dennis Onyango and last year’s winner Egyptian Mohammed Salah, who plays for English Premier League side Liverpool.

ALSO READ  What next for Brexit?

No Kenyan player has made the provisional list, which will be whittled down in the coming weeks,
The winners for the African Player of the Year and Women’s Player of the Year will be decided by a Caf Technical and Development Committee, media experts, legends, coaches of the quarter-finalists of the Caf Champions League Confederation Cup as well as coaches and captains of the national teams of the 54 Member associations that make up the continental football body.

The Awards Gala to honour footballers and officials, who distinguished themselves during the year under review, will be held on Tuesday, January 8, 2019 in Dakar, Senegal.

Leave a Reply

By continuing to use the, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.